Book reviews

Who’s Sorry Now? By Helene Fermont – Book Review


Who’s Sorry Now? Is a collection of four crime and romance stories.

It’s about love, betrayal and dreams.

Do we really know the people we love?

Can love be rekindled?

Do dreams come true?

The truth always comes out in the end.



A little collection of four short stories about family, love and betrayal….a nice, light and quick read you can dip in and out of….

Full Circle:

A lovely, romantic love story. After breaking up Mandy and Chris meet up again and admit the love is still there…a lovely story with a happy end.

The Perfect Murder:

Twins Tess and Bianca meet for dinner… is planning a murder….so much deception in this tale of lies and greed…


Who’s Sorry Now:

Madeleine is missing her ex-husband, Carl. He was unfaithful so they divorced….he contacts her and asks to meet but is there more to know…..A short story but packed with hurt and betrayal….

Katie’s Christmas Wish:

A cute romance about love being closer than you think…..heartwarming.

A nice mix of tales, short and sweet ( and some bittersweet)…perfect for when you have 10 minutes to spare and a coffee…

Thank you to Sarah at Book On The Bright Side for the opportunity to participate in this blog tour and for the promotional materials and a free copy of the ebook. This is my honest, unbiased review.


Author bio:

Born into a bilingual family (Swedish/ English) Hélene Fermont enjoyed an idylic childhood on the outskirts of Malmö, Sweden’s third largest city and major cultural hub. Growing up in the 1970s she had a brief musical career on Swedish TV and radio. Hélene lived in London for over 20 years but has recently returned to Sweden. Hélene is a former teacher, a practising psychologist, and currently the author of three novels, all of which are psychological suspense with a nordic noir flavour. Her fourth novel is coming soon!

SM links:

Book reviews, Thriller, Womens fiction

The Problem with Perfect by Megan Mayfair – Book Review



Marigold Doyle’s life was perfect, with a successful career and wonderful marriage. But when her husband, Julian, passes away, her life is thrown into turmoil as she discovers a trail of secrets Julian was hiding in the months prior to his death.

Struggling with her grief, she knows she needs to find out Julian’s actions to help her move on.

Finn Schröder, a former police officer and now private security consultant, is focused on an uncomplicated, unattached life and growing his business. He agrees to help Marigold find out the truth about Julian, but as they become closer, he realises his feelings for her may be developing beyond simply professional.

As Marigold and Finn work through the web of Julian’s deception, will they learn to face the reality that things aren’t always exactly as they seem?

Purchase Link –



After the death of Marigolds beloved husband, Julian,  her perfect life is fractured by secrets. Just what was Julian hiding?

Marigold enlists the help of Finn, ex cop and now a security consultant, to find out how far the secrets go and why… there such a thing as perfect? Or is this an unattainable dream?

Finn and Marigold grow close as their investigation progresses in this quite light and easy read…..interesting and emotional writing by Megan Mayfair.

Thank you to Rachel’s Random Resources for the opportunity to participate in this blog tour and for the promotional materials and a free copy of the ebook. This is my honest, unbiased review.


Author Bio 


Megan’s stories are about families, intrigue and love. Every book contains a bit of humour and a lot of heart.

Megan lives in Melbourne with her husband and three children, and has a background in public relations and higher education.

She drinks far too much coffee and has an addiction to buying scarves. She interviews with other authors for her blog series, Espresso Tales, and loves a bit of #bookstagram.

Her debut novel, The Things We Leave Unsaid, was released by Crooked Cat Books in 2018, followed by Tangled Vines. The Problem with Perfect is her third novel.

Social Media Links –


Book reviews, Historical fiction, Thriller

The Golden Hour by Malia Zaidi – Book Review




London 1927

Lady Evelyn Carlisle has barely arrived in London when familial duty calls her away again. Her cousin Gemma is desperate for help with her ailing mother before her imminent wedding, which Evelyn knew nothing about! Aunt Agnes in tow, she journeys to Scotland, expecting to find Malmo Manor in turmoil.

To her surprise, her Scottish family has been keeping far more secrets than the troubled state of their matriarch. Adding to the tension in the house a neighbour has opened his home, Elderbrooke Park, as a retreat for artistic veterans of the Great War.

This development does not sit well with everyone in the community. Is the suspicion towards the residents a catalyst for murder? A tragedy at Elderbrooke Park’s May Day celebration awakens Evelyn’s sleuthing instinct, which is strengthened when the story of another unsolved death emerges, connected to her own family. What she uncovers on her quest to expose the truth will change several lives forever, including her own.

With the shadow of history looming over her, Evelyn must trust in her instinct and ability to comb through the past to understand the present, before the murderer can stop her and tragedy strikes again.




Set in April 1927 and Lady Evelyn Carlisle receives a call from her cousin Gemma, she is about to be married, but wants Evelyn to arrive early in Scotland, as she is concerned about her mother’s behaviour….

When she arrives she’s puzzled as there seems nothing wrong…But things are not quite what they seem, Gemma’s mother is lively and helping a neighbour turn his home into a retreat for artistic veterans of the Great War. Not everyone is happy about this though.

Then, on the Mayday celebration, a body is discovered by Lady Evelyn and, of course, she is determined to help catch the guilty party.

While this is quite slow paced, there is a lot happening and the characters are all well rounded. Malia Zaidi’s evocative writing brings the atmosphere of the time alive, from wealthy London life with butlers and staff….to Scotland and the murder mystery….a little darker than a cozy mystery and a thoroughly entertaining read.

Thank you to Damppebbles Blog Tours for the opportunity to participate in this blog tour and for the promotional materials and a free copy of the ebook. This is my honest, unbiased review.


About Malia Zaidi:

Version 2

 Malia Zaidi is the author of the Lady Evelyn Mysteries. She studied at the University of Pittsburgh and at the University of Oxford. Having grown up in Germany, she currently lives in Washington DC, though through her love of reading, she resides vicariously (if temporarily) in countries around the world.

Social Media links :

Purchase Links:

Amazon UK:

Amazon US:

Publishing Information:
Published in paperback and ebook formats on 26th March 2019.