Book reviews, Psychlogical thriller

Call Me A Liar by Colette McBeth – Book Review



You could say it started with vanity. We believed we were special. But the truth is we were simply vulnerable.

One of them is lying. One of them is guilty. No one is safe.

Months after landing their dream job, five brilliant young minds are sent on a remote retreat. But when one of them disappears, they’re forced to question why they were brought here in the first place, and how far they’d go to get what they want.

And for the first time in their lives, they realise too much knowledge can be deadly.

This is the chilling story of what happens when the idealism of youth turns toxic. Can it ever be justified to do bad things for the greater good?



When Libby sees a poster, advertising ‘Can you crack the code’, her and boyfriend Joe get started, eventually they manage….Will they get a job now?

Libby’s Uncle has told her his business is struggling, so feeling a little responsible, she really needs a job. So when Freetech offer her and Joe a position they jump at the chance…..

They find themselves, using social engineering to gain security information from various sources…..Kyle, the boss confirms the companies are their clients and the intent is to highlight the holes in security …so all above board !

The gang of 5, Libby, Joe, Tess, Will and Asha are then invited to a corporate team building stay, a luxury break…all expenses paid…so off they go, but what is Tess up to? Who is the mysterious Tomaz?….

So when one of them goes missing, they come to realise a little knowledge is a dangerous thing…and their naive, idealistic world comes to a rude awakening…

A contemporary and relevant thriller with its marvellous twists, incredible and well plotted by Colette McBeth…..I can thoroughly recommend it….

Thank you to Anne Cater and Random Things Tours for the opportunity to participate in this blog tour and for the promotional materials and a free copy of the book  and this is my honest, unbiased review.

You can buy a copy here (and it’s only 99p for Kindle at the Moment too)




Colette McBeth is the critically acclaimed author of psychological thrillers Precious Thing, The Life I Left Behind and An Act of Silence. Colette was a BBC TV News television correspondent for ten years, during which time she covered many major crime stories and worked out of Westminster as a political reporter. She lives on the South Coast with her husband and three children.

Twitter @colettemcbeth Facebook /colettemcbethauthor



‘Clever, atmospheric and truly scary. Colette is the real deal’ Marian Keyes



Renée Knight, author of DISCLAIMER


‘A rare thing: gripping but compassionate’

Paula Hawkins



Erin Kelly, author of HE SAID/SHE SAID


‘Topical, morally ambiguous and with a pace that never lets up, it’s a blistering thriller written with Colette’s usual deftness of touch. Brilliant!’

Tammy Cohen


‘Superb. So topical and fast paced’

Michelle Adams


‘I loved this book … It combines a furiously twisty plot with utterly believable characters. A winner’

Elly Griffiths


‘Good line after great line and a brilliant, totally contemporary setting’

Jane Casey



Book reviews, Comedy

Base Cowboys by Mark Farrer – Book Review



BASE COWBOYS is a comic crime trilogy set in the Scottish Borders. It is the sixth laugh-out-loud book in the CULLEN series written by Borders author Mark Farrer and will appeal to readers of Christopher Brookmyre, Carl Hiaasen, Nick Spalding or Tom Sharpe. The book tells the stories of three amoral ne’er-do-wells, their unfortunate and accidental intrusion into Cullen’s life, and the imaginative ways he finds of ensuring (his) justice is done:


Dirty Barry

The first casualty of adultery is… the tooth!

Barry Sullivan is a sordid dentist who resorts to blackmail to keep his string of married women in line. But now Cullen has toothache – and a very different interpretation of the dental code of practice.


Bronchial Billy

Meet Billy – the fastest gun in a vest.

Billy is a geriatric slum landlord desperate to win first prize in a Country & Western gunfight competition. But his trigger-happy birthday celebrations provoke Cullen, and now Billy must pay. Will he meet his High Noon at the Grand Ole Opry or will he go out with a bang? Whatever happens, there’s sure to be fireworks.


Pale Ale Rider

There’s trouble brewing…

Tyler is a teenage tearaway with the eyes of a serial killer. But when he decides to rob Big Paul’s local pub, he gets more than he bargained for. Will Tyler lose his bottle, or just get smashed? Cullen thinks he’s seen dead eyes like those before, and now he has a plan: he’s not bitter, he’s just a little twisted.




Base Cowboys is a book containing three novellas, all featuring the cowboy hat wearing Cullen.


Dirty Barry

This novella is about a dentist called Barry (Beaver), who loves women….too much and is a pest to say the least…

It starts in a cheese store, he’s helping protect Archie from rivals, but ends up injured (this is just hilarious and full of cheese related puns)

“Archie let out a plaintive cry. “My Stinking Bishop!””

Cullen, needs a dentist and finds out the true nature of Barry……but Cullen has his own sense of justice and….goes a bit ‘Marathon Man’ on him….

I love the slapstick humour and it made me laugh out loud at times….the epilogue brings it all together too.


Bronchial Billy

Billy Gillespie is a slum landlord..

Vincent wants to own the Grand Ole Opry…

Stinky Pete, lives up to his flatulent name…

More hilarity, sex and violence ensues……


Pale Ale Rider

‘Trust the Soup’

This shows the darker side of ordinary people….a story of a child growing up without a father and ends up being just like him….

It still has the honour but a little more pathos than the previous novella’s in this volume, but still has laugh out loud moments….

“”I’ve slept with a Brazilian!” Tyler boasted. “OMFG!” Tracey shrieked in horror. “How many is a brazillion?””

Thank you to Damppebbles Blog Tours for the opportunity to participate in this blog tour and for the promotional materials and a free copy of the ebook. This is my honest, unbiased review. 


About Mark Farrer:

Mark Farrer is the author of six comedy novels and novellas, each set in the Scottish Borders with a distinctive Scottish backdrop – whether salmon farming, textile mills, Rugby Sevens or the Scottish criminal justice system. His books are multi-stranded storylines involving larger-than-life characters, whose plans and incompetence inevitably exceed their wits. All feature an itinerant loner, Cullen, who lives off the grid and finds himself inadvertently drawn into someone’s crazy scheme, only for his own (very individual) sense of right and wrong to be offended. That’s generally when things start to go wronger.



Social Media:

Twitter: @mark_farrer



Amazon Author Page:



Purchase Links:

Amazon UK:

Amazon US: